Alerts & Newsletters

By subscribing, I agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

the boroughs new duffer brothers series order netflix
Courtesy of Netflix

Netflix on Thursday announced that it had given a series order to The Boroughs, a supernatural mystery with Stranger Things auteurs the Duffer Brothers as executive producers and The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance creators Jeffrey Addiss and Will Matthews as showrunners.

What’s the eight-episode drama about? Its official logline reads: In a seemingly picturesque retirement community in the New Mexico desert, a group of unlikely heroes must band together to stop an otherworldly threat from stealing the one thing they don’t have… time.

Stranger Things Season 5 Spoilers
Stranger Things Season 5: Everything We Know About the Final Episodes

“We’ve been fans of Jeff and Will’s writing for a long time, and when they pitched us their idea for The Boroughs, we immediately knew they had something very special on their hands,” say the Duffers. “While the heroes in The Boroughs have a few more years on them than the kids from Stranger Things, they are a similarly lovable bunch of misfits, and we can’t wait for you to join them on an adventure that is at turns scary, funny and deeply touching.”

For Addiss and Matthews’ part, they’re “thrilled to be back at Netflix. Working alongside the Duffer Brothers (who are pretty good at making shows) and their team has been a dream come true. They bring the perfect balance of heart and horror to our story. We can’t wait for audiences around the world to unlock the dark mystery buried beneath the sunny facade of The Boroughs.”

We’re intrigued. You? Hit the comments with the actors of a certain age you’re hoping will wind up in The Boroughs?

What to Watch Today
June 10, 2023
12:00 PM
07:00 PM
Murdoch Mysteries
08:00 PM
Avatar: The Way of WaterInspiring America: The 2023 Inspiration ListLove's Greek to MeStanley Cup FinalMary J. Blige's Real Love
11:30 PM
Saturday Night Live
PMC Logo
TVLine is a part of Penske Media Corporation. © 2023 TVLine Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved.