Alerts & Newsletters

By subscribing, I agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

Schmigadoon! is ready for its encore.

Schmigadoon! EP Reveals Season 1 Episode Order Was Trimmed — What Was Left on the Cutting Room Floor?

Apple TV+ on Tuesday unveiled the trailer for Season 2 of the musical satire, debuting Wednesday, April 5. While Season 1 parodied 1940s musicals, the next six episodes will pay homage to a decidedly different era of showtunes. The official logline reveals that, “having found true love in the town of Schmigadoon, Season 2 will find Josh (Keegan-Michael Key) and Melissa (Cecily Strong) in Schmicago, the world of ’60s and ’70s musicals.”

Key and Strong will be joined by new series regulars Tituss Burgess (Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt) and Patrick Page (The Gilded Age), while fellow returnees include Oscar winner Ariana DeBose, Dove Cameron, Jaime Camil (who previously played Billy Flynn in Broadway’s Chicago), Kristin Chenoweth, Alan Cumming, Ann Harada, Jane Krakowski, Aaron Tveit and Martin Short — the latter of whom appears to be the only Schmigadoonian reprising his Season 1 role as a leprechaun.

The trailer also appears to give away the outcome of Season 1’s cliffhanger. We see Josh and Melissa have returned to the real world — and they’re struggling to find the same kind of fulfillment that their brief stay in Schmigadoon offered them. They head back to the forest where they first crossed over to the magical realm, hoping to return to Schmigadoon, but instead they’re transported to — you guessed it! — Schmicago.

Press PLAY on the trailer above for your first look at everyone’s new roles, then hit the comments with your first impressions. Will you be adding Season 2 to your Apple TV+ watchlist? Let us know!

What to Watch Today
June 08, 2023
03:00 AM
Based on a True StoryBeavis and Butt-HeadClone HighGremlins: Secrets of the MogwaiiCarlyThe KardashiansNever Have I EverThe Other Two
08:00 PM
The Blacklist
09:00 PM
100 Days to IndyTop Chef
PMC Logo
TVLine is a part of Penske Media Corporation. © 2023 TVLine Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved.