Alerts & Newsletters

By subscribing, I agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

American Idol Top 24 Results Top 26
Courtesy of ABC

Proving that no judgment is ever really final, even during the literal Final Judgment round, American Idol introduced a first-of-its-kind twist on Monday.

“Us judges, we like to change it up every season,” Katy Perry told an anxious trio of contestants — Colin Stough, Iam Tongi and Matt Wilson, photo’d above — as they awaited to find out who would snag the final spot in the Top 24. “We have so much talent this season, we don’t think there’s a Top 24… we think there’s a Top 26.” And just like that, all three were through.

With this season’s Showstopper/Final Judgment two-parter now behind us, we officially know which singers will move on to compete at Disney’s Aulani Resort in Hawaii on Sunday. But if you were wondering why we only learned 25 names instead of 26, TVLine hears that the 26th contestant will be revealed in the next episode.

Unfortunately, this means we also know which singers will not be moving on. Monday’s episode said goodbye to several fan favorites, including country crooner Preston Duffee, who had the energy but not the vocals; Platinum Ticket recipient Cam Amen, who put an R&B spin on “The Impossible Dream”; Kaya Monee’, who continues to do Willie Spence proud; and old-school rocker Trey Louis, who was apparently “very, very close” to making the cut.

Read on for a refresher of which contestants made it into this season’s Top 26, complete with videos of their Showstopper performances (if available), then drop a comment with your thoughts on the results. Which eliminated singers still deserve to be in the competition, and which Top 26-ers will you be rooting for on Sunday?

What to Watch Today
June 08, 2023
03:00 AM
ArnoldAvatar: The Way of WaterThe ClearingSomewhere BoyThe Ultimatum: Queer Love
08:00 PM
The Real Housewives of Orange County
09:00 PM
Burden of ProofRiverdaleVanderpump Rules
10:00 PM
It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia
PMC Logo
TVLine is a part of Penske Media Corporation. © 2023 TVLine Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved.