Matt Smith, Claire Foy Set for Netflix’s Queen Elizabeth II Series

Matt Smith The Crown Cast

Your Majesty, the doctor will see you now.

Matt Smith (Doctor Who) and John Lithgow (How I Met Your Mother, Third Rock from the Sun) will co-star in Netflix’s original series The Crown.

They join Wolf Hall‘s Claire Foy as Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II in the drama about the monarch’s decades-spanning reign and the Prime Ministers who shaped Britain’s post-war destiny.

Smith will portray Philip Mountbatten, Duke of Edinburgh, while Lithgow steps into Sir Winston Churchill’s iconic shoes.

The 10-episode series — penned by Peter Morgan (The Queen, Frost/Nixon), with Stephen Daldry (Billy Elliot, The Hours) directing some installments —will debut in 2016.