Emmys 2012: Who Should Win Best Supporting Actress in a Drama Series? Take Our Poll!

emmys 2012 supporting actress dramaThere hasn’t been a back-to-back winner of the Emmy for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series since Blythe Danner took home the statuette for Huff in 2005 and 2006, and that streak won’t be broken this year.

Indeed, 2011 winner Margo Martindale of Justified only appeared on one season of FX’s acclaimed drama, making consecutive wins an impossibility. Nevertheless, there are several women in the Supporting Actress race who aren’t exactly new kids on the Emmy block.

The Good Wife‘s 
Archie Panjabi, for instance, took home the prize for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series two years ago, while her costar Christine Baranski (a 10-time nominee) was an Emmy winner back in 1995 (as Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series for Cybill). And then there’s six-time nominee Maggie Smith of Downton Abbey, who’s looking for a hat trick to go along with her wins in 2003 (Outstanding Lead Actress in a Miniseries or a Movie for My House in Umbria) and 2011 (as Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Miniseries or Movie, also for Downton).

Yep, you read that correctly. Smith has a shot at a peculiar two-peat for her role as the Dowager Countess of Grantham. Downton Abbey competed as a Miniseries or Movie in 2011, but moved to the Drama Series race for this year.

Of the other three nominees this year, only Mad Men‘s Christina Hendricks is a prior nominee (in 2010 and 2011), while Breaking Bad‘s Anna Gunn and Downton Abbey‘s 
Joanne Froggatt are celebrating their first nods.

What would you do if you had the power to send one of these fine actresses to the podium when the Emmys are handed out in September? Take our poll below to vote for your favorite — TVLine voting closes Sept. 14, so act now! — then hit the comments to justify your pick!

Every day for the next month, we’ll launch another “Who Should Win” Emmy poll, so come back to TVLine.com every day to weigh in on who’s most worthy of TV’s biggest honor, and to stay up to speed on all our races, follow me on Twitter @MichaelSlezakTV!